[Tuesday, Jun. 03, 2003 @ 10:59 p.m.]
[ Why Do I Want To Be An Actor? ]

My fate shouldn't be set in stone. I'd like to believe that I have control over my life, and that I can achieve whatever I want. I've been a struggling actor for 11 years, and I have diddley-squat to show for it.

Why do I want to be an actor?

1. I love performing, it feels like play time.

2. I hate desk jobs, especially the 9-5 kind

3. I was given the opportunity to manage a bead store, but even at my best, I got fired. On my way home, while I was crying about my failure, I remembered that I had some background actor work ahead of me, and a small part in an indie flick, and put the pain behind me.

4. In high school, it was the only subject that I got the highest grades in, over science, math and english.

5. I love the instant gratification I get when on stage, and the audience responds.

6. My happiest moments, even while on welfare or broken hearted, were on being on stage or on set.

7. Everytime I watch TV or a movie, I'm always analysing it like an actor.

8. Other interests have been lost to me, and I haven't missed them, while the bite I still suffer from the acting bug won't go away: I didn't choose it, it chose me.

9. It's the one thing that gives me reason to wake up in the morning.

10.I wrote a monologue, and after I performed it, my younger brother said, "You wrote that yourself?", and after I said yes, he was silent, and I could tell he was proud of me.

11. Eventhough I feel like a coward on a daily basis, I can push aside my fears whenever I have to go onstage or before a tough casting director and come away in one piece.

12. I know my skill will strengthen with practice, that my flabby acting muscle will become firm someday.

13.Eventhough I am a fugitive of the student loan creditors for going to an acting school, I think it was the most valuable time spent.

14.The desire for it hasn't burned out yet.

15.I don't care about being a superstar.

16.I sometimes catch myself in the background on old reruns of TV shows and get all warm and tingly inside.

17. I sometimes catch other actors I know of, and turn hunter green with envy that I could be in Vancouver auditioning, instead of being here in Winnipeg.

18.No matter how often my dad lectures me on finding a real job with a real trade, deep down I have some faith in myself that I know what I want to do with my life.

19. When I was new to Jr. High, and I had to chose between French and Drama class, my mom told me that another language was more important, but I already new I wanted drama.

20.When a girl in my grade 7 class asked me if I'd ever considered being an actor, it was like an epiphany.

"I'll be pursuing it until I'm 89", I once said.

We'll see. On the other hand, I don't to be one of those deluded dreamers, chasing blindly like a fool, wasting my life. I've attempted to quit acting, but the pain in my chest it too overwhelming. I'm like a donkey chasing after the carrot on a stick, not realising I'll never get it. I'm actually surprised at what little I have accumulated, when I think about it. If it wasn't meant to be, I'd have moved onto something else without looking back, but that is not so. I don't know what my future holds. I've had doubters and supporters, but it's what my heart wants, and this is it. I'll keep at it until something better replaces it, and after over a decade, this is staying with me.


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]