[Monday, Oct. 06, 2003 @ 5:54 p.m.]
[ What, Me Wedded? ]

Topic: Weddings

I've never had a huge ambition to get married. I did for a fleeting moment when I was a teenager, but since I felt unlucky in love, I tucked that away, thinking if I found someone by chance, then the whole wedding thing would surface and I'd be all over it.

Weddings are expensive, and so much goes into them, bringing on headaches. I knew of someone who decided not to have a wedding, to elope to Banff, Alberta and have just herself, her husband-to-be at the time and the minister by a brook and other beautiful outdoor scenery. They wore their most comfortable clothing, she had a bouquet of flowers and that was it, aside from exchanging vows. Everyone was displeased, but it was what they wanted.

If I found a woman I wanted to spend the rest of my life with, and I had to have the ideal wedding, I wouldn't want a traditional one. I'd have to plan it with my partner, change the colors, create something that was meaningful for us, not based on heterosexual traditions: More personality-based. We'd have our favourite colors, chose the type of outfit we'd wear, pick our own symbolistic articles. I'd do it for the sake of ceremony, not for any legal reasons, whether gays and lesbians could legally get married or not. I've only been to 4 weddings in my life, but no same-sex weddings, yet. I'd love to go to one of those someday. I'd especially love to go to one of those that have the wedding done like it were Hallowe'en, or on a nude beach, or on a boat, or in a funhouse. Something crazy like that.

I just can't visualize my own wedding.


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]