[Thursday, Jul. 17, 2003 @ 10:25 p.m.]
[ Southern-Fried Fringe. ]

I was watching Dateline's interview with Ben & Jen: The Bennifer Show as it's now nick-named. I keep thinking of how I'm sick of the tabloids and gossip, but then I find myself watching them chit-chat, wondering if this interview will be the cause of their break-up.

I was watching this show, not too intently, for I know they're just people with fabulous careers, when I reflected on yesterday. I went to Mondragon, a vegan restaurant of all things, and ordered their Southern-Fried Tofu Sandwich: tasty. I wanted to ask them how they made it, but restaurants never give out recipes, it's just not done, unless they're selling their cookbook or something. Anyway, as I'm semi-focused on Jen and Ben's interview, I realize that there's a package of Shake'n'Bake in the cupboard. I could create my own Southern-Fried Tofu Sandwich! I wanted to recreate the recipe myself, looking at what was already on the side of the box as reference, then make my own from scratch. I might make it tonight as a midnight snack later.

One thing I have to say though, that when I went to see Hedwig & The Angry Inch last night, I didn't expect to like it so much better than the DVD I bought last year. I'd heard so much about it, and without having seen it, I bought it and was disappointed. In comparison to the live show, it was flat. It was shown at the Royal Albert, where hard core types dressed in black and carrying weapons, bought or home-made, go to vent and get numb at the same time. I had picked up my dry-cleaning, so I had 6 pieces of velvet articles to carry around with me. After finding a seat, I wanted to compare the live show and the movie, and I came away humming and grinning with thoughts and songs lingering in my coconut-head. I had already seen, "The Raven", and admired him for doing a one-man show lasting only 11 minutes in a room smaller that my bedroom. Seriously, the seating capacity was 16 people! He was already on stage, that being the corner of the room, bent over his picture of, "The beautiful Lenore". A blonde Edgar Allen Poe, how interesting. In my mind, I was already casting the movie on who'd play Eddie, and I imagined George Clooney. He needs more credibility that having directed a movie about a has-been talkshow host who "claims" he was a hired assassin.

Chyeah, as if!

He was a bit stiff, but that's stage acting for yah.

I'm going to use my super pass and see 8 more shows. I'll also be seething in my seat, seeing working actors on stage, while I grumble about not being hired for anything. I don't remember how many people asked me if I was in any fringe shows. 'twas almost depressing. I've got to start writing for next year. I may take some notes from my diary or something, but then whoever reads this will figure me out, and I'll have to kill them...

mwahahahaha!


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]