[Monday, Mar. 22, 2004 @ 8:05 p.m.]
[ [P.O.Y.] ~ School Days ]

School Days: What was it like for you? Did you experience any bullying? Were you in any 'cliques', popular or not? Did you do well in school? Did you enjoy it or was it a bad experience? What was the most memerable about being in school? ....Etc....

Kindergarten: Realized I was black by looking at the other kids; got no valentine's day cards in my little envelope, afraid of dogs, discovered "Punch & Judy", "The Farmer in the Dell" and "Curious George".

Grade 1: Met my first friend who was African/Irish, learned to color within the lines, discovered chocolate milk, shared gum with my friend, got a bleeding nose in a game in gym, even more afraid of dogs.

Grade 2: Learned to ice skate, play piano and had my ears pierced, "Frere Jacque", "Puff the Magic Dragon" and my comedic talent in music class.

Grade 3: Teacher's coffee-breath; the most valuable thing I learned was the effect of a put-down and how harmful it was.

Grade 4: The heartbreaking of losing friends when you move away and the cruelty of being the new kid.

Grade 4, again: Being a year older than the rest of the kids but having better friends.

Grade 5: Dealing with moving again and readjusting to another new school; developed an interest in writing short stories but only for school; sang in the choir but never discovered the acting bug yet; boys treating girls differently and getting away with it.

Grade 6: Becoming a school patrol and learning about taunting someone who was called a hooker and another girl who was rich but ostracized [and I'll never know the reason either]

Grade 7: Moving to Edmonton and learning that adolescence sucks! The atmospheres for school environments got gloomier and gloomier; discovered the acting bug!

Grade 8: Put in the "Differentiatd Class" because I was barely able to pass my classess. The rest of the school looked down upon us, while my classmates didn't think much of me either.

Grade 9: Upgraded to a better class but still barely passed; has a friend who was a vegan for relifious reasons and gave me chocolate chip cookies as a birthday gift; Love sucks!

Grade 10: Let my hair down from the pigtails and ponytails and sometimes wore make-up; loved drama classes; fell asleep in my other classes alot; Jr.High friends spread into the population and get lost, losing touch.

Grade 11: Discovered I didn't want to style hair in Beauty Culture class; drew art class pictures for my brother and got him 9/10's on them; Discovered philisophical thought and the teacher's funny laugh.

Grade 12: My grades could only take me so far; loved my androgynous graduation dress of a tux and a skirt with crenolyn underneath. I just skimmed my whole scholastic career but didn't get indepth about it. Too tired to do that.


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]