[Tuesday, Sept. 07, 2004 @ 9:42 a.m.]
[ "To Mrs Anne Jansens" ]

Winning Award Notification, my ass!

I received an email claiming I'd won a lottery. I figured it was an obvious scam, so I searched here and my letter was almost word-for-word exact.

I could tell my letter received was a mass-mailing when it was addressed to "Sir/Mrs" and the fact that I don't enter lotteries anyway. I hardly ever buy lottery tickets. My mom does, but I know she'd never fall for something like this. The worst part is, someone is bound to believe this letter sent to them, and the scamming bastards will win. Sure, I could write the victims off as "stupid" and "should've known better", but how many of us have been taken? At some point or another, someone will attempt to con us and we'll trust them. It would be great to think we can go through this life without a scratch, without ever being taken advantaged of, without being fooled, but somebody out there will push random buttons on the human behavioral scale and will hit pay dirt. It's so easy to judge someone else and call them a fool and shake our fingers at them, denying that we're capable of being conned. It could happen to anyone. As soon as we tell ourselves it will never happen to us, we blind ourselves from impending doom. We won't see it coming because we've turned our backs on the possibility. As soon as one says, "It could happen to me.", then we become more alert.

I can't even feel safe through my email address. I sometimes doubt the security of this online diary. I don't know who's reading this thing. For all I know, my relatives are reading this and they don't know who exactly this is they're reading. Sometimes I think my mom is onto me. She's commented that I should be a writer: Is she referring to this diary? It's a paranoia I try to push aside, knowing I could get discovered, but I push ahead because this is fun. I love playing with web design and figuring out the html stuff. I've even tinkered with the idea of becoming a web designer, but that's not a serious thought, really.

I have to go and rehearse my play today.


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]