[Wednesday, Sept. 01, 2004 @ 1:11 p.m.]
[ [P.O.Y.] Role Models ]

One role model that comes to mind is Bea Arthur. I remember watching "Maude" and hearing how deep her voice was. It recalled how often my mom would tell me to "raise my voice". My voice isn't very girly, but I like that it has some depth to it. When I heard Bea Arthur's voice and how ungirly it sounded, I felt that if she could have a voice like that, then why can't I? Besides, I didn't know how to change it. Even if I did, sometimes I think I'd like it to be deeper, especially when I get older like her and Suzanne Pleshette. I'm a fan of any woman with a sultry voice.

Another role model I can think of is a Sound Technician in Vancouver. She was very androgynous but I found her very sexy, even before I came out! She had a swagger, a belt with a skeleton dangling from it, and the way she was put together stirred me. Her style and image stuck in my mind. I consider myself a wimp, but she seemed strong. We didn't get along, but oddly enough there was something about her I liked.

One of my teachers in Jr.High, a drama teacher, had a great sense of humour whenever she'd demonstrate a scene. There's been no other drama teachers who've have that kind of impact on me. She didn't continue teaching us years later. I never found out what happened to her though. I wonder how her life turned out?

I have to mention my mom. My mom loves to create recipes from her imagination and sometimes I try the same thing. It's more that my mom has influence over me. I feel I'll never be like her. She's more womanly while I'm the androgynous freak I feel. I've been told all my life that I look like her, but I'm seemingly nothing like her. My younger brother doesn't even see the resemblence in us.


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]