[Thursday, Jun. 12, 2003 @ 10:00 p.m.]
[ Pondering Vancouver ]

I can't wait to visit Vancouver again. I'm not really looking forward to the day and a half Greyhound trip, but it's cheap.

A friend of mine offered to pay my way. I thought that was a bit much, since I'd be in debt in some way, but she said it would cost only $95 if she booked in advance. I'm thinking, wow, that's awfully cheap from Winnipeg to Vancouver and back again. When I mentioned this price to a couple other people, they sat in silence as they did the math in their heads as I did: it can't possibly be that much, can it? So, the ticket arrives in the mail yesterday, and it's over 200 bucks! How many chicks do I gotta suck before my debt is paid off? I mean, that's a bit much. The guilt is weighing on me, knowing this'll bite me in the ass someday. I can see the scenario in bits and pieces: me standing there as she bawls me out for making her spend over 200 bucks on me, and that I'm a leech that should be squashed. I'd run onto the bus and the driver would be alert enough to slam the door behind me before she gets a chance to strangle me. Our friendship would dissolve over money issues and I'd have a horrible bellyache as I store my emotions away.

But I'm still glad I'm going.

I was figuring out how I'd pay her back: a chain-mail loin cloth! I made it a couple of years ago when an ex asked me to, and when s/he didn't take it, I decided it was mine. Now I can give it to my friend as payment, or rather as a gift. Yeah, that's what I'll do. I won't have knots in my stomach from having this debt hanging over me like a black cloud. I've already dodged the student loan creditors, and now the tax people have me on a hit list, and I dont' need more debts.

I've always said, Adulthood is like high school, only with debt. I think my older brother said that many years ago.

I wonder if I can have access to a free computer while I'm out there, and update this thing?

I also want to take my tape of Queer As Folk so I can tape the next episode; I'd like to donate it to the Gay & Lesbian Resource Centre, atleast that's the plan. I'd rather have them on DVD really, but hey, VHS isn't totally dead. It's not like 8-track tapes or anything.

Anyway, I'll be staying with some friends while I'm there, and they're excited about my arrival as I am about seeing them. There's so many people I have to contact, although I'll only be there technically for 3 days. A day and a half on the bus, three days there, then a day and a half coming back.

I'd better whoop it up while I'm there so the busride won't blot out the mere seconds spent there.


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]