[Thursday, Feb. 26, 2004 @ 10:31 p.m.]
[ The Wise Words of Omar Epps ]

Last night, I was watching a talk show. I watch Conan and Leno and Letterman and Kilborn, so I can't remember which one of them it was. Anyway, Omar Epps was on, and the host brought up the fact that Omar just got married.

Of course the audience applauded.

It was Conan O'Brien! He asked why Omar decided to finally get married after knowing the woman for 11 years but being a couple for the last 2, and Omar said, "Well, it's like a set of keyes. You put them in the door, but you search for them, wondering where you'd put them, realizing they were there all along".

It reminded me of a conversation I had, when someone asked me how I knew I was gay. "Well, it's the pencil-behind-the-ear theory: I'd put this pencil behind my ear, but I'd forgotten about it, patting myself down with the knowledge that I'd lost something, but not knowing what exactly it was. When I discovered it, I realized it was there all this time".

It's the same when I knew I was an athiest and that I wanted to be an actor. Anytime I discover something about myself, hiding itself behind my ear [subconscious], that's who I am.

I'm sure there are more pencil's behind my ear, but I haven't searched hard enough.


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]