[Friday, Oct. 24, 2003 @ 3:14 p.m.]
[ I May Be Quitting the Kick Stone & Walk Company ]

Last night, I went to see my friend AA in a play, loved it and came away with a job prospect.

I had only enought busfare to get there, but I decided to ask a friend for a mere 1.75. On my way out, as my dad was in the kitchen, I said, "Don't worry", after telling him that my friend is a male African Actor who I've known from acting school in Vancouver, "He's not my boyfriend or anything, we're just friends, so don't expect anything". I felt compelled to say this so he doesn't harass me with the usuall fatherly neurosis when his daughter goes out into the night, galavanting with who-knows-what. He's worried he won't get any grandkids, and he has every reason to be.

Anyway, I got there, early, my friend CM was also there, from my actor's group, who's also taking lessons; her class was invited to see it, like a field trip. I find my seat, I chit-chat with CM, then moments later, KD, the casting director who I auditioned for the other day sits right behind me! I didn't know what to do, so out of fear of saying something possibly stupid, I just said, "Hi, how ya doin'?" and left it at that. The Artistic Director greeted the audience to open the show, then it began. My friend was always considered a very good actor in school and he definitely was one upon viewing. I thought I'd get all depressed over my own failings and insecurities, but the show was too good and captivating to even get self-absorbed. The other 2 actors were also very good, especially the older actor playing the more experience Psychiatrist. It got quite heady as I was engrossed in the scene about the character of Christopher (AA), being possibly BPD (Borderline Personality Disorder) because he was black, and the whole cultural & societal perception of it all. The show was over and I applauded enthusiastically. The reception afterwards, in the theatre lobby, had cheap appetizers and wine you had to pay for (I couldn't afford that, even), but I gave my friend a congratulatory hug and kiss on the cheek. The Artistic Director, whom I'd also auditioned for last month recognised me, and that seemed reassuring. I was then introduced to the older actor SH as I told him what a great job he did (he was excellent), then onto the casting director, KD and her friend. When my friend wandered off to hobnob and bask in his glory moment, KD asked what I did. When I answered I worked for the "Kick-Stone-&-Walk Company" aka I'm Unemployed, she laughed heartily: one brownie point for me! She asked more for my other skils unrelated to acting, and the next thing I knew, she's requesting I send her my business resume to become her Audition Reader! I heard the Angels singing after that. My friend AA took our pictures, then before I had to leave I asked him for a minor favour: busfare back home. It was humiliating, but hey, I had to get home, right? He gave me 5 bucks, which was more than enough.

I had no reason I'd expect to talk to KD and get something like this. I'd just sent my resume to her awhile ago via hotjobs on yahoo, and I had to phone her to get her correct email address, but I felt like I did something without even leaving my home.

I hope I get it!


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]