[Monday, Jan. 19, 2004 @ 1:41 p.m.]
[ P.O.Y.-It's All Good ]

Write about whatever you would like. Let us know what's on your mind. Tell us a story or send in an artistic creation that you have made. Anything goes!

Well, I decided to write about a good and bad day.

I was working at a beadstore for over 3 years. I was just a lowly employee with no advancement, wishing I were pursuing my acting career that had yet to get off the ground. One day, a manager at a different location had up and quit, so since I'd been at my location for so long, I was chosen to work there and manage it. I was very reluctant, but my boss said, "You're going to work there and that's final".

I felt like such a wimp for doing so, and working there was the most miserable 2 1/2 months in my life.

I was struggling with it to the point of smoking pot everyday and commiserating to anyone who'd listen.

One day, January 18, 1999, the same boss who bullied me into working there, came by to visit. He had a little talk with me about how things weren't working out, then handed me my envelope with my last paycheck and notice of termination. Around the corner comes a former manager to take over: It was already in the works to get rid of me. I looked at my cheque and saw it was dated with that day's date. My other employee, who was extremely helpful and practically my right hand, asked if I was okay. I gave her a hug and started bawling my head off. I quickly composed myself and left the kiosk. I was on the Seabus home when it dawned on me: I don't have to work there anymore! I was so miserable that this was a load off my mind and heart! I felt lighter suddenly, also remembering that my background agency phoned me recently about some work, so I knew that all I had to do was phone them and I'd be on set. I also remembered that I was doing a feature independent film in the next week and a half, so I had different things to look forward to.

The only good thing I could think about that I got from that job was that I was paid a good salary, so that I could buy really good gifts for my family.


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]