[Thursday, Aug. 07, 2003 @ 12:45 a.m.]
[ Laughter & Tears ]

I have to stop laughing whenever "Man/Father"(the name of his character) is on stage. Not that he's a comedian, but he's so bad at stage direction, with acting in general. The line, "Cake of soap", as in an actual cake of soap, sounds like, "Keg of soap", and "Velda" mockingly mimes chugging back a keg of soap while off to the side. The Director has to tell him over and over and over again, and that's not the only thing he tries to correct. The poor boy turns around to face an actor, but he turns his back to the audience, and The Director has to bark, in a comical way, for "Man/Father" to get it right. The benefit of this is when he'll spend so much time on this 15-year-old wishful actor, the rest of us will have our lines down better than if we ran through it quickly.

I tell myself not to laugh, because I've been there, so often, it's almost funny and also painful. It's like a verbal flogging to the ego to have a director spend too much time on you because you're not nailing the part. The Director handles it well though, adding some wit to the rehearsal, saying, "Oh, alright", everytime someone asks to start from the top of the scene. Picture Santa Claus, with his hair longer and in a ponytail, directing children's theatre in his spare time, and that's what The Director looks like. I either see "Man/Father" working extra hard on this show, amazing us all and gaining our respect, or quiting and spending the rest of his days saying, "You want fries with that?". I'm waiting for someone to tell him to keep his day job, but to toss happy meals all day wouldn't be a career hi-light to anyone.

It was fun, rehearsing the show, and I can't wait to have my role absorbed into my skin, to get to the Deaf Center, where it'll be shown, and to actually perform it for a live audience.

I'm scared too, but I want to hold onto that sensation, otherwise to feel nothing won't energize me throughout the play.

I came home, and mom had just popped into the DVD, Imitation of Life. Holy tear-jerker! I could tell, during the scene where the black mother is dying, and Lana Turner is by her death-bed, that my parent's were fighting like mad to stop their tears from flowing. I don't even want to mention the ending, for it'll make me bawl out loud. I hate crying, but when the tears really want to burst from my eyeballs, I really want to get it out of my system. My mom said she'd seen it before, and said she related to it. She's light-skinned, so she's had her identity issues, I guess. She doesn't go on about her feelings or unload the troubles of her past, much. I thought I even saw a glimmer of a tear at the corner of my dad's eye too.

A bonding moment.


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]