[Wednesday, Aug. 06, 2003 @ 11:43 a.m.]
[ Creating My Role......Sort Of. ]

I may not have all of my lines down for the play, but neither does everyone else.

The director took a long time with the kids in the beginning, obviously having a frustrating time. When he got to us adults, he exclaimed, "I love working with adults!", which I thought was a little insensitive, but that happens, people let out what they're really thinking and can't backpeddle their way out of it fast enough.

I was being too goofy with my character, competing with the other actresses playing my sisters; one was a first nations woman, the other was white, while me being black made us quite the spectrum of siblings. The director reminded me of my high school drama teacher, in that he had witty remarks, but my teacher had a quick temper that you just didn't see coming, and it would burst upon you without warning. I hope I don't see this guy explode like that. We've got a couple more weeks with this, so there's bound to be a moment of high drama and anxiety coming to our little production.

We'll, I have to remember to be more modest with my character, to be the 'straight man' of the group. Everyone else is daffier and more oddball, while I'm the 'normal' one. It'll take some getting use to.

Must go over my lines soon. The quicker I get them down, the more time I can spend on the rest of the play and know what the hell I'm doing.

I know I've complained about this only being a children's play, but I was being stupid about it. "There are no small plays/roles, only small actors". I have to sing in this too, so it's not going to be that easy, and it was humbling yesterday when I sang one of the songs in front of everyone, with my voice warbling and cracking. It was painful, to my vocal chords and to my ears. As long as I keep practicing and working hard, I can focus my energies into this project. I want to watch, "The Wizard of Oz" as reference, and "King Lear" also, to put my character together better.

Yeah, that'll help me.


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]