[Thursday, Jan. 15, 2004 @ 12:00 a.m.]
[ My Dad Is A Friggin' Drama Queen. ]

All I wanted to do was shovel the snow. Silly me, I should've known better than to shovel with my dad. It's like I'm suppose to do it how he wants to or else I'm labelled disobedient. "Why don't you listen when people talk to you?" Interpretation: "Why don't you obey me?" All I wanted to do was shovel the front walkway, but no, my dad has to bitch about it, saying, "You think you know better than me?"

He's always on the verge of bursting. He gets argumentative over anything. It's like his oversized gut is a seething cauldron of lifelong frustration and unrequited expression that will bubble over if he doesn't start an argument.

The other day, when my dad and I went to pick up my mom from work, he bitched about the empty gas tank to me. I could care less about it, as a non-driver, but my eardrums hate me for enduring his bad breath and loud voice. So, my mom get into the car and my dad starts in on the gas tank. It got to a point where I couldn't take it anymore, so I attempt to stop the argument. He gets angry at me for wanting silence and for disliking their arguing. He gets all indignant and starts telling me to shut up. I'm stunned at first because he's never told me to do that before. I don't know what to say to that, then I realize it sounded stupid. It seemed funny but not enough to laugh out loud. I just couldn't believe how stupid it all was. This is all very petty and trivial to anyone listening, but my dad will argue about something, even if he has to make something up.

Speaking Of Which, Perfect Example: I was here, at the computer, typing away, when he enters yelling about the bath towels. He says that he has his "man" towels while mom has her "woman" towels and that I shouldn't be using his. I've been here a year using whatever towel was clean and it took him this long to bring up something so stupid. I couldn't get a real answer from him about why this was a burning issue for him.

Something is wrong with him. I don't know what, but there's something not right.

For the umpteenth time, he called me in to stop shovelling and rest, so I relented and entered. All was well, no fuss or drama from him, just the both of us pouring over a magazine he gets in the mail.

Friggin' drama queen. He'd kill me if he heard me call him that, but that's what he is. The term would really bring out his already blatant homophobia further out of him like that creature in "Alien". Explaining to him that it's not gender-specific would be like attempting to have a quiet conversation at a nightclub: frustrating and making you wish you could get out of there.


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]