[Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2003 @ 1:06 p.m.]
[ My Coveralls Do Cover All. ]

Lately, I've been waking up and finding the whole house empty. Mom and Dad are both at work, and I won't see them for several hours. The weather outside has been tempermental, and it's been cold in our house too. I can still feel yesterday's vegan sloppy joe's I made, and the amount of pepper I poured into it, chasing away my booze-induced cold. When I don't step out of the house, I still wear my hair wrap so my locs don't get in the way. My long-sleeved coveralls keep me warm, but mostly secure. There's something reassurring about a favourite piece of clothing, like everything will be fine.

Speaking of which, I just got a call from Starbucks today for a job interview next monday! Just the opportunity to be employed and have money is enough to holler and jump around. I'll have to scrounge around for some busfare to get me there. Sheesh! I wish I had enough money to even buy a friggin' buspass this month, then I could feel unlimited in my destinations. The busfare is only $1.75, yet I have twoonies to plop into the coin box. I think of it as donating 25 cents to Winnipeg Transit.

Today, I go to my actor's group, which was moved to wednesdays, the same days that another actor's group is forming, but once a month though. We're to "meetup" at Second Cup, and I want some coin to buy a lousy cup of coffee. Since I have a cold, I stay away from that immune-killing nectar, but sometimes I can't resist. I'll just have a cup of apple cider.

I'm hoping this Starbucks interview goes well. In the past, I've applied to several of their chains, and never got to work there, to the point that I banned them from my list of places to even apply at. Ever apply at a place and have them tell you to phone on wednesday, but then when you do, they tell you that they've already done their hiring? I was always being dicked around like that by them, and one other place, Bread Garden, ever heard of them? Anyway, the frustration of job-hunting has gotten to me, causing me to lash out at my parents whenever they bring up my unemployment/job prospects, hibernate in my room, with the lights off and the door closed. Tons of TV watching, popping in DVD's with the commentary to knock me to sleep at night, eating meals in my favourite bowl, keeping up on what famous person died (Goodbye Gordon "Mr.Carlson" Jump-R.I.P.) and just marking the days until another year has passed since moving back to Winnipeg.

I'm glad I've got my coveralls to surround me.


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]