[Sunday, Apr. 27, 2003 @ 10:36 a.m.]
[ Birthin' & Dyin'. ]

I dreamt I was pregnant. E gads! I wasn't showing yet, but then the dream cuts to the hospital room where they're handing me my daughter; no labor to suffer through. I was lifting her in the air as she smiled her toothless grin, I was carrying her in one of those pouches, wearing her closely to my chest while shopping. Cut to her classroom, and she's already about 11 years old, and she's in a verbal fight with some white girl, but I get all defensive by chilling them out. I think the arguement was about sex, so my advice was, "Just wait 'til you're grown up; adults fight like this too". I Talked to both girls and they chilled out. "I have to look out for her" I said, like I was babysitting.

I had babysat in the past, so I'm not expected to know what it's like to be a mother. I wake up this morning, and what happens to be on the TV but a segment on Joan River's daughter Melissa, having a baby. I'm not 100% sure, but I think that leaked into my dream.

I was checking Yahoo!News yesterday, and discovered that on Monday, Nina Simone died! It took me almost a week to find this out? I know I'm not a total recluse, but I watch a lot of TV, and didn't witness anything on there about her passing. My favorite song of hers is, "Ne Me Quitte Pas". The fact that I don't understand a single French word is irrelevent, since the song hooked me in on the first note many years ago. The last interview I'd read of hers, in Details magazine, she was bitter about the music business, and the interviewer had informed her of a new release compilation coming out, and she says, "Well, I didn't know that, isn't that interesting?" in a most sarcastic tone bleeding through the pages. Another legend bites the dust.

R.I.P. Nina.


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]