[2003-03-20 @ 11:02 p.m.]
[ Hangin' w/Dad ]

Everytime I hang out with my dad, I'm distracted by his breath. Apparently his dentures and what's left of his rotten teeth are the cause. He's had them since I was still floating around in my mother's womb. It's so strong that you can taste it, like you're frenching that person, ewwww! I discreetly offered him a Listerine power-pack and took one myself. We went to his bank so he could remedy his mortgage; he asked to borrow money from me. He was so choked up about his financial dilema: the bank phoning him daily, him arguing for 45 minutes then mumbling his way out the door to drive cab. He's the macho I-never-cry, I'm-always-right, it's-always-someone-else's-fault-type of man, so to hear him ask for money and feel his frustration was heartbreaking. I can't believe this is the same man that intimidated me, made me feel like a squishable bug. He would yell at me for every little thing and blame me if milk was spilt, or a dollar was missing. I guess most adults are scared of kids because they can't relate to them, and are baffled at the same time. He just didn't "get me". He probably thinks he knows everything about me. "You think I don't know you?" he'd say. If I told him I was a lesbian, he'd claim that he doesn't understand me at all. All the stereotypes would fill in the blanks for him, then he's try to sandwich that with the part of me that he flew all the way from Jamaica for to help my mom bring me up because some bastard didn't want to acknowledge me after knocking her up. Not only do I feel like an accident, but that I could've been aborted. It's hard to get certain thoughts out of your head, especially when you're at the end of them.

While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]