[Thursday, Apr. 01, 2004 @ 10:26 p.m.]
[ We're Everywhere! ]

This morning, after a few hours at work, I got my break. The few of us who were on, sat in the empty dining area. Most of the others would order from the menu, but since I'm broke and really don't want to eat there, I had my banana, apple and pear in a flimsey bag. "Are you a vegetarian?" asked on of the women. "Yes. Will this be a controversy I'll have to worry about?" I asked, to which she said, "[The General Manager] is also a vegetarian."

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I'm not alone! I worried for nothing. Well, I didn't tell them I was vegan, but that's neither here nor there.

This morning when I awoke, I still had my uniform on. I don't think I stink, but if I keep neglecting my hygiene like this, I'll have dogs following me home hungrily.

I have to go to bed early, but not because of work: mom is off to the airport @ 4am and we're going to send her off. My dad was insistent on me finishing the computer surfing and get to bed already.

Just a few more hours.....

I got off this around 1:30am and only slept for 3 hours, maybe. As sleepy and groggy as I was, I'm addicted to the internet. If only it would work faster. If only I had my own laptop. I know that as brand new to this job I am, that I'll be barked at for doing things wrong. I can't complain because I'll be told countless times old cliches that I myself haven't imposed on other hapless trainees. I hate starting new jobs because of the fumbling around. I'm slow to start, but once I get familiar with a job, I flow better. I keep expecting to get fired, knowing that it'll be a bigger disappointment to my family than to myself. Getting fired sucks, but when it's a job that you have no career aspirations for, it's a very small loss. If I were in a movie/play/whatever and I got fired, that would be heartbreaking for sure. I'd take it personally, whereas a 'bread'n'butter job' would be considered a speedbump in my career path. I even fantasized about working at Starbucks. Not applying there, but actually working there. I passed through the mall, passed by Starbucks and figured they had it easier, that there was less sweat dripping on their floors than ours. I'm hating my job already, just tolerating the condescension, told countless times about what to do instead of what I've been doing wrong. My mantra is I'm only a trainee, mistakes are inevitable, but that's getting drowned out by visions of strangling someone half my age if I'm told I'm suppose to Biggie-Size their meal! I'm surprised I haven't had nightmares, yet. I may be there another 10 years, I may be there a month: I'd better not end my life wearing the same uniform! Everyone has jobs they don't like, has a slump in their lives where they're taking unlikely jobs they swore they'd never take. One actor/comedian told me that he had to be dragged kicking and screaming into selling insurance. It's tolerable.


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]