[Thursday, Mar. 25, 2004 @ 11:40 p.m.]
[ Dave Thomas[Wendy's] vs. Sam Walton[Wal-Mart] ]

I feel like a rung-out dishrag.

The griller guy, whatever his title is, asked "So, how do you like it here so far?" and I said, "I actually like it here". It sounded lame coming out of my mouth. I wasn't even sure if I believed it myself. "Really?" he says and says nothing more. I'll grow to hate the job. It's frustrating, cramming all the information on the difference between a Jr.Deluxe and a Jr.Cheeseburger and the take-out vs. the eat-in wrappers, but I compared it to Wal-Mart and their Wal-Martians. The atmosphere where I work now is intimately cramped while at Wal-Mart, it's big, spacious and cold. The people at Wendy's are friendlier while the Wal-Martians are distant and cold. Wendy's people are more forgiving while I felt like I was being policed at Wal-Mart.

At the same time, I'm growing tolerant of this new job, knowing full well this isn't the career path I had hoped for. I'd swore I'd never enter the food industry again. I was telling this to another employee who asked, "Have you never work with food before?" like I was so bad at it. He was being ignorantly blunt when he said that, but he's seemingly harmless. There was one guy, whom I'd never met before, was checking me out from behind: I saw his approving smile in the mirror. He has a bit of an accent, but so far he hasn't laid a hand on me. His sense of personal space is closer than most, so I'll be careful of that.

As I was making burgers, one of the girls slipped my paycheque stub into my pocket. I didn't realize we were being paid so early.

I found out the hard way that I was incorrect.

After work, I went to Safeway to buy about 3 things, but "funds denied" popped up on the interac machine. That, and I came home and opened the stub to see it wasn't ready until the next day.

I have to remind myself to eat more.

It's the second time that I've felt light-headed and close to fainting while on the line. I'd see stars then rush to sit down. I hope they don't think this is a fake-out. "If you can't take the heat, get out of the kitchen" is how the saying goes, but I only had some water, a bagel and an apple all day. When I got home, I crashed in my room only to eat several hours later. My appetite for food isn't large. This'll catch up to me someday. I worried about this after it happened but I didn't make a big deal about it. I'll just have to find something I really like. I have no appetite to even sneak a fry from there. Maybe the restaurant is ruining it! Hmmmm.....

On my paycheque, after a fee was deducted for the "uniform" [shirt & visor], I didn't even have 50 bucks left! Without the dediction, I didn't even have 100 bucks! I made more in one day of falling asleep on set and having Ralph Fiennes look at me funny then I did busting my ass over washing my hands a billions times and making the wrong burger[s]. I work harder at Wendy's and can't do diddley-squat, yet having a lazy job in the tv/film business is more profitable!

I love being an actor!

I really have to get some sleep! This time, I'll remember my friggin' name tag, unlike today. I hope they don't put a strike against my name or something. The nicest reassurance I got was one of the employees said, "You've slow, but you're new, you make mistakes but that's forgiveable, but you're making an effort and at least you're trying." I didn't even get that at Wal-Mart. I should have a picture taken, so I could frame it and send it to Wal-Mart that has the inscription: "Wendy's is Better Than Wal-Mart!" with a little button you press for the malicious laughter, at top volume.


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]