[Sunday, Feb. 15, 2004 @ 9:46 p.m.]
[ P.O.Y.`Conformity vs Individuality ]

This weeks topic ~ Conformity vs Individuality ~ Examine the pressures that exist in society to conform to popular culture and its effect on your own individuality.

When I was a little kid, I didn't like how people stereotyped anyone, especially me. I declared to myself to not be a typical black person or a typical girl.

Being a lesbian also caused fear inside of me. Knowing full well that people's ignorance and fear killed others, so my style is to assimulate, so blend into the mass majority so I protect myself from harm. I considered myself a wimp and was also labelled a crybaby. Yes, I get weepy and have learned to hold back my tears and cry inside like most people, so hence my conformity.

I was always considered weird, although I've always considered myself rather boring. I always wished I were more interesting though, but not negatively. More admirably.

Deciding what I wanted to be when I grew up made me go through a list of things I thought I could do, but once I discovered I wanted to become an actor, I tackled the idea, knowing that it sounded unrealistic. Acting chose me, so I'm married to the idea until death do us part.

I can't help being black, but I'm not considered black enough by other blacks. My older brother and my dad only consider my younger brother and I as Canadians, not Jamaicans, eventhough that's part of my history. Anybody who's not Jamaican or black will buy the idea that I'm Jamaican. The difference between a white person and a black person, when each of them says, "You don't act black" is tone; a white person says it with relief in their voice, while a black person says it with disappointment. It's even annoying when a black guy thinks he has the right to "blacken my up" [as my younger brother put it] so I conform to what black is.

I still don't understand how anyone can mistake me for a guy. I may not be the most feminine woman, but I'm not butch at all. Just because I don't wear enough pink or have enough dresses, show more skin, show off my body, wear make-up all the time, have a high voice, dress like the popular girls do is no reason to assume I'm not a woman.

Conformity is out of safety and to feel like a part of society, while indivduality is to express your true self. How come they clash so often? I'm stressed out about being me, yet I regret expressing myself when the consequences are ugly. I can't control how things end up, and I hate that I can't. I want a guarantee that my dad won't hate me if I come out to him, but I won't know until I tell him, if I do at all. I want a guarantee that the next woman I meet will mix chemically with my desires as she would with mine, but I'll never know unless I take the plunge. I want guarantees, dammit, but there aren't any. Life is about risks, plunging into the unknown, feeling the fear yet going forth anyway. Life is like a swimming pool that I've only dipped a foot into. Swimming in it is scary, so I don't even check how deep it is. I grumble at the ones swimming around, splashing around, and I notice the once drowning, thankful that it's not me. I have to learn to swim someday.


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]