[Thursday, Feb. 24, 2005 @ 11:50 p.m.]
[ I've Only Paid The One Time ]

I was searching the internet when I happened upon this link. In the past, there've been these workshops for actors to take, conducted by casting directors and I've only ever taken one a long time ago in 1992. I didn't get anything out of is, as far as any type of advancement in my career. I've always seen these as buying time with a casting director and have steered clear of them. When I lived in Vancouver, they were hundreds of dollars, but out here, just under that much. I still wouldn't go, just because it's like paying to have a job interview to get a job. It's one thing to look for work, but it's also the fact that when you're a starving actor who has to shell out money to be seen, it strikes the wrong cord in me and I avoid these things. I wasn't sure about circulating this link, just because lots of actors attend these things. I received an email about a reputable actor who holds workshops doing one at a disreputable agency; the agent, as I've heard first-hand, is a pig towards the actresses. Plus, having an agent in Winnipeg is like playing pool with a rope. I don't even bother with an agent or casting director workshops. I'll save my money and keep on with the free shows. It makes me feel better that even if I don't get paid for a show, I won't be buying an opportunity to be scene. Although, I must admit, I've come close to only considering paying for such a workshop, but whether it was procrastination or timing, I never went through with it. I'm better off. I figured I'm anonymous in this diary than if I circulated it amoungst friends and got into some sort of trouble.

While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]