[Thursday, Sept. 08, 2005 @ 11:27 p.m.]
[ From Blackout to Dinner ]

Today was....interesting.
I was at work, working as usual, and I get my break the usual time. As I'm sitting there, resting from a whole 3 hours, the lights cut out! There was a power failure that lasted 2 1/2 hours. The first 15 minutes we cleaned, but then our manager told me to relax and just rest.
I'd never really explored that area before. I go to work, work, then leave to go home or wherever, but as I was sitting outside with a few other co-workers [after one young employee talked rapturously about PS2 and then waxed momentarily about being a foster child], I went exploring. I walked to see the other businesses to see if they were blacked out: nope! All fine and dandy. I was lied to! Some other employee claimed the whole block was also affected, but they lied, they lied! It was amazingly quiet. It was also relaxing on the eyes to use the bathroom with absolute darkness, keeping my eyes wide open the whole time. My irises were thrilled. I had to play blind and feel around for toilet paper, hand soap and the water taps. I just used my foot to feel around for the handle to flush; who wants to rumage their hands in a bathroom in the first place, eh? I mean, when the women's was occupied, I went into the men's, and those are less sanitary, let me tell you. I felt tense the whole time, despite the darkness feeling so good on my eyeballs.
Half an hour, just before it's time for my shift to be officially over, my manager sends me home. Full of glee, I grab my bags and head out, when the lights come back one! The GM was also there, in his casual. So use to seeing others in their uniform that sometimes I don't recognise them.
I went home on the bus, fantasizing with lust goggles in tact, when I check the mail: my cheque from the movie comes in! I thought it would've come another week or so. Turns out, it's only one day's worth, so the next 3 days won't come until [hopefully] next week or even the following monday! Plus tomorrow is payday! I'm swimming in cash!

I'm at home when my dad tells me that he's going out. Since I have this cheque burning a hole in my pocket, I tag along so I can deposit it. As we're taking an eternity to leave, lock the door, enter the car and listen to my dad's endless babbling, I'm picturing where the spycam would be the perfect place to pick up his monologue about why he isn't working today. I tuned him out, catching bits and pieces of him going on. Dad wants to take mom out for dinner, but I'm trying to ask what mom's going to do about her car? She can't abandon hers? Anyway, I can't describe what kind of movie this would make, since it's not odd enough to be surreal or dramatic enough to be a feature, but more of a reality show I guess, for tv. Anytime dad is away, mom only complains about him, wondering what is wrong with him. I can't help but wonder what she found so appealing about him when they first me, or what it was that captured her heart one day about him? When was that day that she knew things were going down hill? Why is she still in this marriage? Is this the reason I'm not big on marriage? Could have nothing to do with it, but I can't help but ponder their relationship. I keep imagining one day that I'll hand them divorce papers, for their anniversary, for my birthday, for some occassion, whatever. All I know is they aren't happy. I can't really use their marriage as an example, but my view on it is negative somewhat.


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]