[Monday, Jan. 31, 2005 @ 10:14 a.m.]
[ The Movie That Followed Me Home ]

After rehearsal yesterday, I wanted to take in a play during the Tremblay Play Festival, but my friends were unavailible. I happened to mention, during a chat about current movies, that I wanted to see, The Woodsman starring Kevin Bacon. Anyway, I wandered around the mall and realized that it was starting in half an hour, and after I bought my ticket and butterless popcorn, I saw it.

I had a similar reaction when I first saw, "Dead Man Walking" about sympathizing with a character who had a despicable criminal past. Kevin Bacon plays a man who was sent to jail for molesting little girls and at this point was released after 12 years and resuming his life. It mixed up who the bad guys and the good guys were; you didn't know who was who and it mixed up their roles. Kevin's character, Walter, was gloomy and depressed throughout until he got to talk to a little girl, then it was the only moment he smiled. It brought up all sorts of feelings inside, like the person who sympathized with him, the one who hated him, the one who ratted on him, the one who loved him and a few other characters. It was also good to see him with his wife, Kera Sedgwick, since I don't remember seeing them in a film together.
Anyway, it was a good film and it lingered. I like films that linger and get me thinking. 'twas deep.


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]