[Sunday, Jul. 24, 2005 @ 10:31 a.m.]
[ Day 5 of The Fringe ]

I finished my second show yesterday, and the other actress and I decided to see another fringe show called, "Problem Child" by George F. Walker. Somehow, we got on the topic of friends coming out and I got a little nervous. I'm glad I didn't say anything stupid, but at the same time I wondered how I could come out to her and when the best time was. This is the thing: I hate the idea of coming out for the rest of my life everyday. You think you'll come out once and you'll never have to worry about it again, but no, opportunities come up and you either freeze or go for it. I froze. For all I know, she wants to see if I'm being honest with her and she's disappointed in me. I'm remembering the first show we did and how I wanted to give her a hug after I gave her, plus the other actors, a good luck card. I was only in my panties and she didn't want to hug me because of that. I'm just being neurotic though. Do I tell her now, or after, or hope I never have to? I'm hoping the latter choice. When a female friend came out to her, the girl was crying, meanwhile my actress partner didn't see the big deal. I explained to her that people's reactions are unpredictable no matter who you come out to; some of us find this out the hard way.

Anyway, I saw 3 plays yesterday after our show, [Problem Child, Grow-Op and The Cloud Factory] and I have 3 more spots on my frequent fringer pass for 3 more plays. I still want to see some plays with friends in them, plus the fringe isn't even over yet.

Today I have a late show and I want to see one or two shows. Possibly one for today.

My actress partner and I went to the Pita Pit and ate outside, where an intoxicated Native guy decided to tell us racist jokes, using the word, "Colored people" in his sentence and putting down White people. We decidedly left. Later on, he shows up again, chatting with these two White teens, then tells another racist joke, using the line, "...and you can have all the colored girls you want!" then motions towards me. I saw this bastard do this from the corner of my eye but I still ignored him. I'd look like the racist bitch if I said anything. He also pretends to speak Chinese in that stupid gibberish that most people spew, and there were some Asian guys across the street who perked up at this. I was hoping they'd come across to intimidate him, but they felt like I did about approaching him and did nothing. This guy seemed to think it important to wedge himself into groups for the sake of antagonizing people. I couldn't stomache him any longer, plus I went into the line-up for my next play I was to see. It's always good to check out the local talent, especially when you don't know of the names people throw at you. I was also talking to another actress I'd worked with and when I told her about an actress we'd worked with who passed away, I felt bad. I thought she'd gotten the email and then I felt bad for telling her the news of a death. She's going off to Turkey and the last thing she'll remember of me is that I told her of someone's death, plus the next time she sees me is that I'll be the one who told her about someone's death. How eerie. I was also thrilled that someone from the humanist society came to see me, along with his wife! I never know who's coming to see me until I peep out the curtain. I'm constantly surprised at people when they say they liked the show. I guess I couldn't see it from the audience's point of view, but we've been getting some good words thrown out there. I don't want to hear or read any of our reviews no matter if they're good or bad, but so far it's been positive. I had a fleeting moment when the director claimed we'd be the pick of the fringe and for a moment I started to believe him. It's going this good, who knows?


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]