[Wednesday, May. 17, 2006 @ 1:08 a.m.]
[ Saved? WTF! ]

My family went to church on Sunday. (Shudder). Anyway, a childhood friend of mine told me she was going to a different church. When my dad heard this, he told me to join her. When I asked why, he seriously said, "So you can be saved!" I can understand when a christian says this, because they walk the walk and talk the talk, but my dad barely steps foot in a church unless he has nothing better to do, and this is coming from a confirmed atheist! I don't see him as a born-again christian or someone who's been saved. Who is he telling me? I was insulted actually, that he'd say such a thing, that it was coming from him.

Sometimes I wonder how much respect I have for my dad with moments like this coming at me? I don't like people telling me what to believe since I'll tune out anyway. I was glad that someone at work today said he doesn't believe in god. Another co-worker wanted to see a movie, "The Da Vinci Code" which I'm not really interested in seeing. My answer to her suggestion was, "Meh!": complete disinterest. The day before, I hung out with my atheist friends, so I didn't worry about being saved or anything religious over taking me. What must people think of me, reading this? What would I have thought of someone who thought like this, if I were a believer? Should it matter?


While Soaking in Lavendar... - Saturday, Apr. 06, 2019

He Reminded Me of An Incident Years Ago - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

My Rose-Coloured Glasses are Smashed & I Don’t Want Them Anymore - Sunday, Feb. 03, 2019

It’s Been Awhile - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019

I Never Needed You. - Thursday, Nov. 27, 2014




[newest] [older entries][profile][design] [diaryland]